OT Spotlight: Alexis Traynor

In honor of National Occupational Therapy Month, we’ll be highlighting a new OT every week throughout April. Today’s spotlight is on Alexis Traynor, an OT in Magee’s General Rehabilitation unit.

Alexis Traynor MS, OTR/L, Occupational Therapist, Advanced Clinician

Tell us a little about your background.

I have been an occupational therapist for eight years, and I just celebrated my 7th year anniversary at Magee in February. I received both my bachelor’s and master’s degrees at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia.

047Why did you decide to become an OT?

I always knew I wanted to work in health care; I always envisioned myself as a nurse. But in July 1999, my aunt had a stroke while pregnant with my cousin. She went through rehab here at Magee. When she was discharged from Magee, I spent two weeks living with her, helping her care for her newborn as well as her two-year-old daughter. Between what I observed when she was at Magee, and what I observed with home care therapy, I knew what I wanted to go to college for.

What is the most rewarding part of your job?

The most rewarding part of my job is helping people regain their independence in life, and giving a family back their loved one. When I treat my patients, I always have in the back of my mind how would I want my family member treated if they were in this situation—and I go from there.

Tell us about an experience that solidified for you that you made the right career choice.

Ever since I was a little girl, I wanted to work in the health care world. I have always had a strong drive to help others.  I am constantly re-assured that I choose the best career choice for me every time I am able to successfully discharge a patient from Magee, and when former patients or their families contact me to keep me posted on their accomplishments post-rehab.

What are some of your passions outside of OT?

I am very health conscious. I try to get to the gym at least 5 days a week. When I am not going away on mini-vacations with my girlfriends, I am more of a homebody and enjoy spending time my boyfriend and family.

Share This Article!